Thrift Store Review: Treasure Cove Thrift Store – Dallas

In my search for an RV to make my move to California, I stumbled upon a 1977 motorhome for sale in Acworth (technically Dallas, Ga.), just north of where I live.  I found it posted on Craigslist and the old man I spoke with gave me directions instead of an address (side note: I’ve noticed that people 60 and older tend to prefer giving you directions instead of simply giving you their address.  This in incredibly annoying).  Anyway, it wound up bringing me to Treasure Cove Thrift Store, which I had no idea existed.  It does not come up on Google Maps, which in my book means it isn’t real.  I came to realize this place was not only real, but pretty darn awesome.

Treasure Cove 1     Treasure Cove 2

Just in case the map isn’t helpful, the address is 10323 Dallas Acworth Highway, Dallas, GA.

This place has the biggest variety of the 40+ thrift stores I’ve been to.  Seriously, this place has stuff I’ve never seen at an actual store.  Without visiting for yourself, I’d suggest imagining every garage sale you’ve ever been to combined, but subtract all the crap and multiply it by 10.  Seriously, this place is worth a visit.  Seriously.  (insert synonym for seriously)

Treasure Cove 3     Treasure Cove 4

There is a ton of outdoor space full of outdoor furniture, a bunch of bikes and plenty of assorted, random things you’d never see at a thrift store.  As I said, there’s a working motorhome and also a pop-up camper for sale.  There were a fair amount of children’s toys, slides and ride on cars.

This guy greeted us as we walked in. You don't realize how massive these are until you see them up close.

This guy greeted us as we walked in. You don’t realize how massive these are until you see them up close.

You can't call a place "Treasure Cove" without having a treasure chest. You just can't.

You can’t call a place “Treasure Cove” without having a treasure chest. You just can’t.

I wasn’t sure what to expect walking inside, but considering the bounty of treasures outside, I figured I wouldn’t be disappointed.

Treasure Cove 7     Treasure Cove 8

The interior was nicely arranged and not as cluttered as I imagined it would be.  A plethora of furniture, interesting books, instruments, models, toys and even a telescope all managed to be on display in this relatively small building.  Some guy was just relaxing, enjoying the cool air and watching TV.  The store really had a pleasant, care-free environment.

Treasure Cove 9     Treasure Cove 10

The owner, Johnny, was incredibly friendly and happily showed me the motorhome I came to see.  I attached a picture of his business card in the hopes some of you will come visit this place.  I’m excited to go back before I leave Georgia and pick up a couple of things.  I’m giving this my first 9/10 thrifted tweed suits for providing all you could ever want in a thrift store.  It’s even cooler because it’s just a guy running a small business, which is refreshing these days.  I’m only not giving it a 10/10 because it’s kinda out of the way and I hate going to regions where the teeth/mouth ratio drops drastically.

thriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweedthriftedtweed

Leave a Reply

